Governor Bryan Meets with US Lawmakers, Government Officials to Discuss Federal Issues Impacting USVI

Governor Albert Bryan Jr., on Tuesday, began a slate of weeklong meetings with lawmakers and government officials to discuss federal issues impacting the  US Virgin Islands and to push forward his agenda of stabilizing the economy, keeping the disaster recovery effort on track and building a vibrant economy beyond the recovery.

On Tuesday, Governor Bryan and members of his senior staff  met with VI Delegate to Congress Stacey Plaskett to discuss legislation in the House of Representatives to avert the Medicaid fiscal cliff as well as expanding the delegate’s proposed special visa waiver legislation. They also met with Department of Housing and Urban Development officials to discuss disaster recovery progress and with the Department of Interior to discuss the construction of a new school on St. John. The day wrapped up with meetings with Health and Human Services Deputy Secretary Eric Hargan and House Majority Whip James Clyburn (D-South Carolina).

On Wednesday, Governor Bryan and his senior staff continued the rounds on Capitol Hill, meeting first with House Speaker Nancy Pelosi (D-California), with whom they discussed the Medicaid fiscal cliff, federal disaster recovery funding and other federal issues impacting the US Virgin Islands. The governor described the meeting as very productive. Governor Bryan, on Wednesday, also scheduled meetings with  US Department of Treasury Deputy Secretary Justin Muzinich, Rep. Daren Soto (D-Florida), Rep. Hakeem Jeffries (D-New York), Rep. Bennie Gordon Thompson (D-Mississippi) and Rep. Maxine Waters (D-Missouri).

Governor Albert Bryan Jr meets House Speaker Nancy Pelosi (D-California)
Governor Albert Bryan Jr with VI Delegate to Congress Stacey Plaskett
Governor Bryan discusses disaster recovery progress with HUD Deputy Assistant Secretary (Office of Community Planning and Development) David Woll Jr.
Governor Albert Bryan Jr meets with House Majority Whip James Clyburn (D-South Carolina)