Statement from Government House on USVI Remaining on EU List of Non-Cooperative Tax Jurisdictions

U.S. VIRGIN ISLANDS— Government House released the following statement Wednesday after a recent announcement by the European Council of the European Union indicated the USVI remains on the EU’s list of non-cooperative tax jurisdictions:

We continue to express profound disappointment with the European Union’s decision to include the U.S. Virgin Islands on its list of non-cooperative tax jurisdictions. Governor Albert Bryan and his administration have vigorously lobbied against this unjust action since 2019 and continue to advocate for the USVI’s removal from that list.

During this morning’s Interagency Group on Insular Areas annual meeting at the Department of the Interior in Washington, DC, Governor Bryan reiterated the urgent need for the State and Treasury departments to take a firm stance against the inclusion of Small Territories on the European Union Blacklist.

Governor Bryan emphasized, “It is unacceptable for us to continue being treated like a foreign country separate and apart from the United States. In the area of territorial tax treatment, especially, we continue to be treated inconsistently across the Territories as a group.”

Efforts to address this issue are ongoing. Governor Bryan is scheduled to meet with State Department officials while in Washington to discuss this and other key issue areas affecting the U.S. Virgin Islands.

We urge the EU to reconsider its decision and recognize the U.S. Virgin Islands’ commitment to international tax cooperation and transparency. Our administration remains steadfast in our efforts to rectify this situation and ensure fair treatment for the people of the U.S. Virgin Islands.

The Bryan-Roach Administration is investing in the Territory’s people, infrastructure and future through transparency, stabilizing the economy, restoring trust in the government and ensuring that recovery projects are completed as quickly as possible. Visit

# # #